Help with Seachem equilibrium and buffers

The science behind successful fishkeeping
User avatar
plankton
Super Mod
Super Mod
Posts: 4249
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 17:02 pm
Location: S. Derbyshire
Has liked: 139 times
Been liked: 120 times

Re: Help with Seachem equilibrium and buffers

Post by plankton » Sun Dec 01, 2019 17:23 pm

Do the RO/tapwater mix and see what it is, as well as testing the RO, maybe a membrane has gone in the RO unit....??

Valco
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 7:22 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Help with Seachem equilibrium and buffers

Post by Valco » Sun Dec 01, 2019 17:38 pm

Yes I have tested before adding anything.The pH is 5.5 both the Kh and the Gh are zero. Also the tds is zero.
Can I do a water change using RO water with just acid and alkaline buffers and no equilibrium would this safely lower the Gh.
I am beginning to wonder if the high Gh level could be due to a build up of minerals due to evaporation. I have heard of this happening but have no idea of how to correct it.
You opinion would be appreciated.

User avatar
plankton
Super Mod
Super Mod
Posts: 4249
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 17:02 pm
Location: S. Derbyshire
Has liked: 139 times
Been liked: 120 times

Re: Help with Seachem equilibrium and buffers

Post by plankton » Sun Dec 01, 2019 17:57 pm

I've never played with RO, so don't know what this would do.
What acid/alkaline buffers would you use?

Online
User avatar
Gingerlove05
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3106
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 20:21 pm
Has liked: 163 times
Been liked: 88 times

Re: Help with Seachem equilibrium and buffers

Post by Gingerlove05 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 18:06 pm

I’m wondering if adding both might be pushing the hardness up, or is there something in the tank decor wise thats raising the hardness?
Like Ian i have never used any buffers or equilibrium. I was trying to remember what Vale! uses, thats aquadur

Valco
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 7:22 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Help with Seachem equilibrium and buffers

Post by Valco » Sun Dec 01, 2019 18:27 pm

I use seachem acid and alkaline buffers. The only rocks I have in the tank are lava rocks which are inert.
I have used JBL Aquadur remineraliser in the past and had the same high levels of Gh.
Perhaps I need to contact seachem direct to get their thoughts.

User avatar
plankton
Super Mod
Super Mod
Posts: 4249
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 17:02 pm
Location: S. Derbyshire
Has liked: 139 times
Been liked: 120 times

Re: Help with Seachem equilibrium and buffers

Post by plankton » Mon Dec 02, 2019 8:08 am

It is quite unusual to get such a high hardness level when using the remineralisers (when you're not aiming for it), I don't understand why that would happen......unless the batch has got too much of something in it....???

Post Reply