Nitrites

The science behind successful fishkeeping.
GingerGandalfff
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 2 times

I'm cycling my new tank, it's about 12 days in. My ammonia was at 5ppm so I did a water change to try and bring it down because it has been up that high for days. My nitrites are the highest on my scale reading 5ppm with the API freshwater test kit. I've done a water change today and now my ammonia has dipped down to 2ppm but the nitrites are still reading the same. Is this okay and if not have I done something wrong? I'm a newbie to all this and this forum has been so helpful. Thanks in advance.
Gingerlove05
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Has liked: 5443 times
Been liked: 2668 times

It depends what the nitrite reading was before the water change, if it was 5ppm before and you did a 50% water change it would drop to 2.5ppm. If it was 12ppm (unreadable by the test as it maxes at 5ppm), it would read 5ppm on the test but a 50% water change would bring it down to 6ppm, so it would still show 5ppm on the nitrite test. Hope that makes sense.
Just keep an eye on the ammonia dropping to 0ppm, nitrites can stay off the chart for 10days+ while cycling but they will drop suddenly (more or less overnight) once the munchers catch up :)
mikeyw64
Posting Legend
Has liked: 424 times
Been liked: 1275 times

Are you cycling it fish in or fishless ?

If you're doing a fishless cycle then no need to do water changes yet, just let nature take its course
plankton
Super Mod
Super Mod
Has liked: 5051 times
Been liked: 3423 times

If I read correctly you've done a water change to bring the ammonia down and the nitrites still read high.
That's fine. :)
Top the ammonia back up to 2ppm when it goes down to zero.
Jon_D
Posting Legend
Has liked: 657 times
Been liked: 774 times

You need Ammonia to get the bacteria to consume it and produce Nitrite.
You need Nitrite to get another form of bacteria to consume that and produce Nitrate.
The Nitrate so produced fertilizes your plants.