120 litre stocking

Just started on your fishy adventures, ask for help in here.
Mully333
Been liked: 2 times

Hi All,

I'm a bit new to all this. My daughter and myself both really like tropical fish so we've taken the plunge.
I'm in the process of cycling the tank without any fish, but we are getting near to the exciting stage of deciding what fish we want.
We are looking at a community tank and was wondering what you think of the below choices (120litre tank 78cms long by 53cms height by 38cms width....I think).

6 x Cherry Barbs (2 male, 4 female I guess)
9 x Cardinal Tetras
6 x Corys (not sure which ones yet)
1 x Dwarf Gourami (male)
1 x Bristlenose

Does this sound okay? I know to try and give the Corys and Bristlenose seperate areas if possible.
Can I add any more than this? If so some suggestions would be great.
Any suggestions on what order to add them?

Any other ideas? Anything essential to add to the tank....drift wood, real plants etc?

Thanks
mikeyw64
Posting Legend
Has liked: 424 times
Been liked: 1275 times

Welcome to the madhouse :)

my nominal 80L community tank (and yes I am new to all thi smyself as well) has 4 Platys,10 Neon Tetra, 12 Ember Tetra & 6 Panda Corys which puts me at about 92% stocking (based on 70 litres to allow for substrate etc) based on aqadvisor (which as I've learnt is a guideline especially when it comes to parameters) . Advise I received was to try & stick at around 85% stocking

What I've found helpful; here is to let people know about your water parameters ie the PH & Hardness (you can get these from your water authority website if you dont have test kits yet)
mikeyw64
Posting Legend

Punching your dimensions in at aqadvisor your list comes out at 61% Stocking level so (to my mind at least) its all down to your water parameters :)

Mullys AqAdvisor
Mully333