Help please - High Phosphate & Algae Bloom

Just started on your fishy adventures, ask for help in here.
deanspoors

Hi All,

So I'm pretty new to fish keeping, so please bear with me and go easy!

I have recently upgraded from a 63l tank to a 200l, it's Coldwater, but I have a heater in to keep it at 18degC it's stocked with;
2 black moors
3 fancy goldfish
8 danios, leopard & zebra
2 bristle nose plecos

I'm using a Fluval 307 external filter, Eheim air200 air pump, Fluval UVC. Fluval Aquasky

So I've had the tank for a few weeks checking the water periodically and all seemed fine for first couple of weeks until BAM an algae bloom. My first beginner mistake was the use of 6 in 1 strips to check for a nitrate spike, all values were within acceptable values so I assumed the bloom had been caused by excessive use of the tank light, I covered the tank up for a few days and bought a fluvial UV in-line clarifier, 3 days later and the water was worse than ever. I visited my local aquatics shop who suggested high phosphate levels. Sure enough after a water test the tank phosphates were off the chart (<10ppm), a quick test of the house tap water also indicated that the tap water is (2-5ppm!)..

At the weekend we carried out a 75% water change, removed all the dragon stone and placed in boiling water, and removed and rinsed the bogwood (too big to boil). I also placed 250g of bagged RowaPhos into my external filter, and we've recovered the tank.

Rechecked the water again today and the algae bloom is getting worse again,
NO3 = 10-25 NO2 = 1 GH = 0d KH = 6d pH = 6.8 Cl = 0 PO4 = >10

and phosphate is still off the chart, what should I do next? I have 1l of Phosguard at the ready, but I'm not sure whether the RowaPhos has already saturated, or just hasn't had time to work yet.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

Dean
Andys temperate tank
Tank of the Year Winner 2020-21
Tank of the Year Winner 2020-21
Has liked: 4375 times
Been liked: 2888 times