Changing to sand substrate?

Tell us a bit about yourself!
Voylike
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 2 times

Hi guys, as mentioned before I’m new to the hobby, have had my fair number of issues, however loving it and learning all the time 😂👍🏼
I’ve started with grey and white gravel with substrate underneath but am thinking of changing to sand. Is this possible to do with fish in tank and will I still need substrate underneath the sand for my plants?
Thanks
Martinspuddle
Forum Jester & TOTM Winner
Forum Jester & TOTM Winner
Has liked: 4253 times
Been liked: 3917 times

Full strip down of the aquarium, otherwise you run the risk of fish loss or damage and then there's the problem of toxic issues with the aquarium water column after disturbing the substrate.
WARNING - DO NOT BREED, FEED OR PET THE PUDDLE! :dodgy2:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
:swim2: :swim2: :swim2: :swim2: :swim2: :woo: :swim2: :swim2: :swim2:
fr499y
Admin - TOTM Winner
Admin - TOTM Winner
Has liked: 1789 times
Been liked: 4222 times

As above, move the fish out of the tank into a suitable container, strip the tank down, give it a little clean while your there and go from ground up. Leave the filter running with the fish if its not fixed to the aquarium :)
Voylike

Thanks , would I be leaving as much water in as possible or just keep the 20 litres or so that my fish would be put into when I move them out?
fr499y
Admin - TOTM Winner
Admin - TOTM Winner

no harm in keeping as much water back as possible for them to go into, it will help reduce any shock to the fish.
SPACKlick
Posting Legend
Has liked: 399 times
Been liked: 412 times

Fr499y beat me to it.

Put your fish in a container with as much water as you can, you'll be getting rid of all the water from the tank pretty much.
250L: Tank Log